Ankeny Economic Development Corporation


March 1, 2022

News Item Image

STUDENT SHARK TANK 2022 Results        

Great minds on a mission is a good way to summarize the 2022 Student Shark Tank event. From local apparel with a mental health message to improving non-profit efficiency across the country area students pitched their ideas for making a profit and improving the world.

Ankeny Orbis students hosted this year’s event on Martin Luther King Day. Audrey Pierick, Faith Lilly and Aaron Martin planned, organized and executed the event. Participants representing three Ankeny schools, two universities and a trade school pitched ideas for their shot at winning funds to further their efforts.  

Thomas Brustkern’s mission for PLAb is to make 3D printing more accessible for Ankeny area students. Brustkern experienced long wait times and limited options for accessing the 3D printing capabilities in Ankeny. With his winnings, he plans to create a club of 3D printer enthusiasts to share knowledge and resources and make this innovative technology more accessible to community members and students.

Christopher Martin is on a mission to combine his passion for improving low-income housing options with his business savvy and computer science skills to build a business that will provide Habitat for Humanity chapters around the country with an affordable application system. Working with industry experts he is developing a solution that will improve efficiency and reach for these non-profits.   

Bradley Van Heeswyk invented and patented a unique solution for turkey hunters to easily preserve and commemorate their birds without the time and expense of a taxidermist.  

Judges ranked participants on the merit of the idea, return on investment, execution plan and presentation. The judging panel included Melissa Johnson, President of Midwest Insurance Corporation, Deshara Bohanna, owner of Design Fetish, Aaron Johnson, VP of Marketing at Accumold and Kerry Walter-Ashby, Ankeny City Council. 

For-Profit Winners: 

1st place: Christopher Martin 

2nd place: Bradley Van Heeswyk 

3rd place: Michael Chongo/Devin Nalley 

4th  place: London Schuchart 

Non-Profit Winners: 

1st place: Thomas Brustkern 

2nd place: Nick Jensenius 

Pictured above: Aaron Johnson, Audrey Pierick, Faith Lilly, Aaron Martin and Joey Beech

Pictured below: Michael Chongo, Deshara Bohanna, Davin Nalley

« Back

© 2023 Ankeny Economic Development Corporation All rights reserved.